Forums are back in action! ×

Squared Away & Ready to Roll

Hey Everyone,

WarfighterKev here, finally signing up and saying hello. I've been lurking on the boards for a week or two, and last night I took the plunge. This is a community I need to become a part of. 

I'll try to be short and sweet - trust me, my battle logs will likely lack any such brevity, so enjoy it while you can! In the civilian world I'm a regular guy working a really cool 9-5 job. I'm married with a little one on the way, and my wife and I enjoy a pretty laid back lifestyle. I spend most of my days chained to my desk - but I love my work and try not to complain too much. 

My body, however, complains all the time. You see, my nights and weekends are spent very differently than my workweek grind. For the last 15 years I've been an active martial artist, and have been fortunate enough to compete and place in high level Taekwondo tournaments. I also train in submission grappling, and I've got my first tournament coming up at the end of the month. On top of that, as a military reservist I have the privilege of putting on a uniform and doing all kinds of awesome G.I. Joe stuff. I feel like a very lucky guy when I wake up in the morning, and I'm thankful for all the opportunities I've had. 

But, like I said, my body hurts. My nutrition is weak, and I'm paying the price when I go from zero at work to 60 everywhere else (dropping 20 pounds would be awesome). A series of injuries pretty much crippled my one-time serious weightlifting, and I'm not close to hitting the numbers I used to. It's humbling, frustrating...and motivating.