Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from Toronto

Hi all.  I've been browsing through the NF site for a couple months and figured it was time to create an account and bite the bullet.  A brief intro and background first.

I'm a tall (6'1) 36 year old guy, weighing in at about 220lbs.  After graduating university back in 2001 (science nerd) as hefty as I am now I went on a starvation style diet and dropped 60lbs in about 8 months.  Breakfast was a bagel with peanut-butter and a large double-double, lunch was an hour long walk with a pound of baby carrots, and dinner was a bowl - if it could fit in it, I could eat it.  The weight loss probably had as much to do with the laxative effect of eating a pound of raw carrots all at once as it did from anything else.  Thankfully, I did not yo-yo.  When people started telling me I was getting too skinny I started running and eating more.  Things seemed to fall into a natural equilibrium.  

Fortunately/unfortunately my situation changed. I moved to Toronto into a job that finally paid an above poverty level salary, and around the same time I stopped running and started eating more. The effect of having less free time and actually having some money in my pocket. The weight creped back on gradually, but 12 years later and I'm now back where I started.  I've tried to get back running, but received some world class shin splints for my efforts, and I tried getting back on the diet only to realize that a) I now loathe raw carrots with a passion (see above), and b ) my patience for feeling hungry has evaporated over the last decade. I love food, and I love cooking - a dangerous combination.  I don't have much of a sweet tooth, but my nemesis is salty, fatty carbs.  Put an econo-sized bag of chips in front of me and I'll be down to the crumbs before realizing what I'm doing.