Forums are back in action! ×

I am a 26-year-old pre-veterinary student.  I am also a hopeless geek with an insatiable thirst for knowledge and creative expression.  I am used to succeeding in everything that I try, and so I am very discouraged in my weight loss venture.

I have been diagnosed with polycystic ovary syndrome.  I don't lose weight like a normal human being.  And I gain weight rapidly, and sometimes seemingly for no reason.  I hate it so much.  I have worked seven days a week, one hour a day, for six months (concurrent with healthy diet), only to lose two pounds.

I am desperate now to lose more weight, primarily for health concerns (genetic predisposition to stroke and diabetes, along with increased risk of both of those things from the PCOS), but struggle with motivation due to lack of success.  I am 5'3" and weigh 165 pounds.  My goal weight is 115.  

I am limited in what I can do.  I have severe balance problems due to a neurological condition and ankle surgery.  I also have severe plantar fasciitis and Achilles tendonitis.  Asthma, too.

I feel that I am in need of an accountability partner.  My husband isn't supportive and is quite possibly lazier than I am.  I think he might be enabling my fatness so that he feels better about his own weight, or maybe because he thinks I will leave him if I become thin.  I don't know.  I can't get into his psyche and he won't really communicate on the matter.

Welcome to the rebellion!

I'm sorry that your husband is not onboard with your quest. You'll find lots of people to help you with accountability. You say you have been eating healthy: how so? Diet is something that often needs tinkering and adjustment to find a working combination. I think we have other people with this syndrome here on NF. Try posting a topic asking about that in the Help! I'm new to fitness and have questions forum. There should be people in a similar situation able to provide advice and/or help.