Forums are back in action! ×

Looking for a fight -- please help...

So here I am -- finally taking my first step in making this real. Been reading the site and getting the emails for a while, and now I'm not taking any more excuses because I'm looking for help. The friendly kick in the ass, the pat on the back, the encouragement I know I need to get where I want to go.

I'm 33, I weigh 214 lbs, 5'11", I have a 2nd degree black belt in karate, and I just started going back to the boxing gym I used to work out at. Amateur boxing rules cut off registration at age 34, so I've got eight months to get in shape and get a fight before I'm no longer eligible.

Right now, at my weight, I qualify for the "Super Heavyweight" division (200 lbs and up) and to me that's just embarrassing so I've gotta drop 20 pounds (to give myself a nice couple-pound cushion) to get a fight in the heavyweight division.

My weak points:

-- TERRIBLE cardio -- I hate running. Period. But I know I need my lung power to make it through the rounds and to get myself into the superhero shape I want to be in.

-- Poor diet. I eat well (healthy, clean, good food, low-carbs, good fats, high protein and lots of veggies) about 70% of the time... The other 30% of the time, I'm really bad. It all but ruins all the good I do for myself when I do eat well. I enjoy food -- I really enjoy BAD for you food.

-- I smoke. I know it all, I've heard it all, I've seen it all, I know I must quit. I'm WAY down from where I was even a year ago (from three or four packs a week to one or two), but I've gotta get those last few cigs out of the equation once and for all.

My strong points: