Forums are back in action! ×

Hello.

My name is Turkbroda.  I am a longtime Nerd/geek/Psychology professor.  I am in my early 40s. I have been fat all may life, but athleticly so...I was a wrestler, soccer player, backpacker, a wanna-be powerlifter and in general I was allways willing to try anything.  As I am getting older, I am finding myself becoming less physically capapble,  which is of course to be expected.

So I promptly started to change my life....hitting the gym...eating right..ect....which was quickly followed up with a bleeding retina.from deadlifting too much and a car accident which detached it.  

8 months and four sugeries later, I have been pronunced fit to go back to excersise.  But 8 months of enforced sloth has taken its toll.  So it will be an uphill climb. However, there is another fly in the ointment. I am, for the first time in a long long while anxious about excersise...afraid about the concquences of working out at the level I like to work out at.  If I am honest with myself, I am equally anxious about confronting the fact that I may be sliding into the type of excersise the "older people do"- which is not bad, but a little depressing.

So I am turning to my fellow nerds- hoping to get back the mojo and drive I used to have. Having a support network has always been the lynchpin for me...being a extreme extrovert. 

Anyway, I appriciate you all letting me get this off my chest.  Sometime it is easier to disclose to strangers than loved ones.

See you around,

Turkbroda

• Like 1

Turkbroda

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.â€-Frank Herbert, Dune