Forums are back in action! ×

I overcomplicate things D:

I know I'm being silly and all, but I can't quite get over it - this just keeps bugging me!

I love the idea of RPG'ing one's fitness goals and I'm hooked on creating my character (I'm only a newbie, still Level 0 and all, but I'm thinking ahead). I don't feel so attached to DnD (Dungeons & Dragons) though, at least not as much as I do to DoD (Drakar och Demoner, a Swedish role playing game system) and I really want to create my character in allignment with DoD instead (their trolls makes more sense to me, amongst other things).

Well, no big deal right? I'll just call my race "troll" instead of orc. Perfectly sensible solution. (And figuring out which class fitted DoD's "yrkes" wasn't much hasle either, so so far so good.)

But, and oh yes, there's a but. DoD have nine "grundegenskaber" (aka. what NF calls attributes) and they just doesn't really line up well with the six (slightly altered abilities) of DnD. (Some might suggest I just cut out the "extras", but I really like them - f.x. "psyke" that determines how mentally/psychologically strong you are (think willpower or the ability to cope with trauma - in other words, an ability that plays a role in how you react to challenges in life).)

Well, then, I thought I could just do both systems, side by side (assigning the same amount of points to the abilities that do match in the two systems and doing some clever fiddling with the rest to make it sensible).

But then I realise that the NF's system is quite a ways off from how it's usually done (roll dice for base stats (which are a lot higher than what our Level 1 ten points can create) + leveling up equals a slooow boost to one's abilities (+1 occasionally)), whereas here you might (if you get an A on a goal) get +5 to a single ability in one go), which creates some wierdly overpowered personel after a couple of challenges and then it no longer fits in nicely with either system really.