Forums are back in action! ×

Howdy,

I'm Newcomb, pronounced the same as Duke Nukem (matter-of-fact, some folks at work have taken to calling me "Duke").

I was pretty into sports through high school, but then through junior college and the start of my career and marriage, I let myself go. A few years in and I found my self the archetypal fat nerd: sleep in, no breakfast, drive the less than half-mile to work, sit at the desk all day, Coke(a-cola) break in the morning, fast food for lunch, vending machine break in the afternoon, head home, takeaway and a Coke for dinner, then Coke and snacks in front of the TV or computer until midnight (or later). Then I went back to school to finish my bachelor's; and by the time I graduated, I was up to 300lbs (I'm 5'8"). One day, I was out and about helping my mom shop for a new laptop, and I couldn't read the signs at the end of the aisles (I normally have "perfect" vision), I had been pretty thirsty most of the week, but all the Coke wasn't helping (It's liquid, right?, Idiot past-Newcomb). My mom had me recount some other symptoms (she's a nurse), and when we got to her place she had me take a blood glucose test. I got a high score over 300mg/dl, so we went on down to the hospital and got me an IV drip for my severe dehydration, as well as a brand-spanking new diagnosis of diabetes, achievement unlocked :(.