Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings! I'm new!

Hi everyone! I'm Demonslayer, I'm a nerd, and I like fitness, so I figured this would be a good web site for me :P Actually, it's so great to know that there are other people who see the world like I do -- I tend to think of life as a giant role playing game or fantasy adventure myself, and I'm looking to do some leveling.

I'm not in excellent shape by any means, but I'm looking to change that. I'm not in horrible shape either, but I could definitely be better. I've been hovering over the line between normal weight and overweight for my height for about two years now, and I'd like to get firmly below that line, thank you very much :)

My biggest hurdle is definitely going to be nutrition. I love grains. LOVE them. I'm not entirely sold on the whole Paleo thing yet, but as much as I'm reluctant to make a commitment to give up all grains forever, I think I could definitely use to have LESS of them!

I'm a grad student in Colorado studying computer science, I like rock climbing, programming, anime, beer (yes, yes, so shameful), and working out (you say I can't outrun the fork -- or in this case pint glass -- but it won't be for a lack of trying!).

My cardio is pretty good but my strength is crap so I've recently started doing bodyweight exercises out of Convict Conditioning, but I'm pretty noobish and bad at them so far. First day I did some wall pushups -- the ones aimed at old people and rehab patients -- and I thought my arms were going to fall off. Buuuut everyone has to start somewhere, right?

Oh and I'm self-deprecating and talk about myself way too much. Could you tell? :P

Welcome!! I know a few people here use Convict Conditioning. It sounds like an awesome book. Everyone starts somewhere :)