Forums are back in action! ×

A bunch of questions, help me please

So recently i achieved a human flag on a pole and parallel bars (gotta update my challenge thread) and I saw a routine designed to reach a human flag hold. The thing was it had in total of 15 muscle ups in the workout If you did the recommended 3 cycles and I CANT EVEN DO A MUSCLE UP!?!?!?!?!? So I've decided i will start trying to get a muscle up but I have a push/pull/legs split with some abs and cardio added and I want to work out every day and i do. I want to work in push muscles and legs but how would i do that if i was training for a muscle up all the time? Lastly I cannot do muscle ups in my house because I have a doorway pull-up bar.

RECAP:

-is it normal to be able to flag but not do a muscle up

-is it possible to work in other muscles while training muscle ups and to work out every day

-how would i do a muscle up training plan with a doorway pull-up bar

Please reply thanks guys

I am not an expert, just an enthusiastic amateur, but I'll take a crack at this anyway.

1. Yes it is normal. The flag is mostly about core strength and stability, a muscle up is upper body strength. Two different muscle groups performing different tasks.

2. I don't know. I have no idea what exercises are needed to perform a muscle up. Would imagine pull ups and dips, which you could add to your normal workout (again, I am an amateur at best)

3. Go outside. YOu can use a tree branch, the goal post at a soccer field, Improvise. Here's Scooby giving some ideas for pull ups.

Sorry I couldn't be more helpful, but there you go.

"Vivere Militare est" Seneca

"If man makes it, don't eat it." Jack Lalanne

I am not an expert, just an enthusiastic amateur, but I'll take a crack at this anyway.

1. Yes it is normal. The flag is mostly about core strength and stability, a muscle up is upper body strength. Two different muscle groups performing different tasks.