Forums are back in action! ×

Determined...And Kinda Scared

I'm going to be completely, totally honest. I have no clue what I'm doing. I've never worked out seriously before. I barely know half (if that) of the terminology here and I'm lost. But I want to change.

A little backstory. I'm a 23 year old woman, 5'5", sitting somewhere on 140-150 pounds. I spent a lot of my life hyped up on ADHD medication that was unneeded, and was dangerously underweight as a result. I didn't break 100lbs until I was 14, and it took college (and the cessation of meds) for me to break 120. I've never worked out or developed healthy habits because it was never really encouraged in me--I just had "a high metabolism". 

About a year and a half ago, I was in a bad car wreck. The TL;DR outcome of that mess is depression, nearly no money and no car in a bad small town. Thank the gods for my girlfriend and her family taking me in, or I'd have killed myself. I started comfort eating and gaming for hours on end, literally becoming that nerd with chip dust on her fingers, a love/hate relationship with Bioware, and 35 extra pounds of jiggle, all located on my upper half. (I kid you not. I look odd. Legs that haven't changed and a lumpy barrel of a torso is a weird combination.)

There are only two gyms in my town. One is an Anytime Fitness, too expensive for me and very jock-ish. The other is a Y, more moderately priced but overrun with teenagers and soccer moms. Neither is a good place for me; I get overwhelmed and anxious every time I check them out. I don't know what to look for in a gym, and worse, I can't really afford a gym at this point. I was scared off of them after a friend, buying into the whole gym lifestyle, ripped his rotator cuff "training" and was told by his trainer that he'd be okay to run a Tough Mudder with that severe an injury.