Forums are back in action! ×

As I look down at the starting line...

I feel incredibly excited and nervous. This has been a few months coming. I have always been over weight, and always filled the cliché "Funny Fat Guy" in groups of friends. I consider myself to be a social person and love to interact and be around people, but have always had the self-consciousness in my mind. Its something I would really like to change about myself and after a few weeks of lurking I am ready to start getting involved, but first a bit about myself.

My name is Payton. I am 24 years old and live in Northern Florida. I work in a 911 call center/dispatch room, and I love my job. It wasn't something I had ever thought about doing until I needed a job after I finished my degree at college. After I got out of high school I spent the next four years hitting the books hard and the video games/junk food even harder, and this has continued to this day. This change is not just helping feel / look better, its my last real step in becoming an adult. (24 may be late...but who's counting)

I have never really cooked much up until this point and right now that is my main focus, and hopefully I can begin to develop and then improve my skills without burning down my house. I have begun to workout at a local gym a few times a week with some friends, but find myself a tad lost on what to actually work on. After spending years worrying about how I would get judged at the gym I was shocked when I began to receive support from friends and family and even total strangers.

I have a long road ahead of me, but this site has already provided me with a lot of inspiration and knowledge and I know this well continue as I get more involved. I currently weigh 380 pounds (it hurts to type) but some journeys were just meant to be more epic than others. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and read. I look forward to getting to know and talk to some of you in the future.