Forums are back in action! ×

For the last gosh darn time LET'S DO THIS THING

Hi All - 

Melody here. 5'5'', 220 lbs.

So I've been a part of Nerd Fitness for (I think) about 5 months now and I've been really slacking in the "being active on the forums" category... But fortunately this is the time I'm going to change that. 

Here's whats got me down in the dumps:

• Work is hectic
    I'm a graduate student in the physical sciences, so my work heavily revolves around whether or not I can get code to work or whether my lab equipment behaves as needed (not a lot of stuff I have control over). Right now the goals that my advisor have set for me are really vague because I'm the only one in our collaboration (international, >100 members) who understands what's going on... But there are more problems than solutions... So I'm really just taking it one day at a time, trying to solve the little problems that will hopefully start pulling the strings the big scary knot in front of me. 

• Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD)
    I was diagnosed with GAD about 2 years ago now. This means that during my normal day my baseline level of anxiety is higher and normal every-day stressors turn into crippling problems. I also have panic attacks and moderate but infrequent insomnia. I'm managing it, but its been a problem in the past - every little slip up seems like the end of the world.... It could be that I caved and had that chocolate bar or that I weighed myself and I only maintained my weight instead of losing it... Then I want something to stop the anxiety and those things turn out to be sweets or vegging in front of the TV. 

• Physical Injuries