Forums are back in action! ×

Hello...I'm a little lost (TOTALLY new looking for a bit of direction)

Hello everyone!

I stumbled upon Nerd Fitness only yesterday and have been reading articles and poking around. I love the site! I have thought about joining the Nerd Fitness Academy, but do not know if it would be right for me. I am a disabled veteran, and as such it is a struggle to figure out how to keep fit & active with my injury.

Anyway, in the mean time, I was trying to figure out how to become a part of the community here. I saw the 6-week challenge that started only yesterday and would love to participate, but to be hoenst, I am pretty overwhelmed by all of the information in the forums.

Where/how do I start? I read the info on the 6-week challenge post, but I am kind of confused.

Would anyone be willing to help a totally newbie learn the ropes and start her adventure?! :-D

Thanks to everyone who read & replied!!

• Like 2

I'm not actually partaking in the adventures or the challenges or whatnot, but use the forums as a very good information base.

What I did want to say is there are quite a few vets, and some active duty folks, on here as well.

Welcome to the madhouse. :D

• Like 1

To start a challenge:

Devise your goals as per the challenge info post.

Go to the Recruit section and make a thread to write those goals down to share them with the community.

Then, update said thread with your progress throughout the challenge. At the end, assess how you did and whether you met your goals.

It's really that simple. :) Reading through other people's challenges can help give you some ideas on goals, layout, grading, etc.  Some folks get elaborate with themes, an over arching story and fancy formatting. I tend to lean toward the simpler side of things.

Good luck and welcome! Definitely ask more questions as you have them.

• Like 1

Hello everyone!