Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from Florida!

I will try not to make this too very long, but I have a lot to say!

Hi there, I'm Kurai! I'm 27 years old and looking to become more comfortable in my own skin. My current goal is to lose about 45 pounds but depending on how that goes it may change! I currently work as an emergency dispatcher. I dispatch police and fire only at the moment but I would like to get certified to be an emergency medical dispatcher at some point.

I love drawing, painting, singing, and making huge crafty messes. I have a yarn hoard for crying out loud. Crafting is my best source of relief from stress. And I assure you, I am often stressed due to my job.

There are many things I will talk your ear off about, Doctor Who, Transformers, Disney, Legend of Zelda, and Kingdom Hearts among other things. Also cats, I have three and I love them to pieces. Daniel is my old man with diabetes, Kassy is my tiny proper lady, and Luna is my typical wildchild youngest.

You want something else I'll talk your ear off about, feline nutrition. Daniel, at his worst, was skin and bones, couldn't groom himself properly, and couldn't use the litterbox. After much research, many angry vet visits, a hellacious rant that no I would not put my cat down, and my stubborn will to not give up, Daniel now has normal food regulated sugar levels. I became hyper aware of what I was feeding my cats, reading labels, checking for grains in everything! I realized the pet food industry was totally letting me down! Then I noticed something. What the heck was I feeding myself. (See there was a point to this rant!) If my cats needed a species appropriate diet to thrive, then what would a species approprate diet for a human look like?

I quit soda, cold turkey. Lost 20 pounds over the course of 6 months! Tried a few new things here and there, eating less processed foods, more whole grains, more fiber, lessen sugar intake, but nothing really stuck.