Forums are back in action! ×

5x5 Program Help?? Thanks in advance

Hey Guys;

Just signed up, I am a complete newb to the whole gym thing. I'm posting here because since starting the gym I have read loads of articles on the internet, most of which contradict each other and I'm kind of confused.

I am 22, 6ft tall and 145lbs so I'm pretty skinny. I have been going to the gym for a solid three days a week since October. I am doing a 5x5 program because I've heard its a good beginners program and builds strength and mass muscle. I have seen slight gains but nothing massive. I'm just worried I'm not training enough or the exercises aren't varied enough.

Here is my routine:

Tuesday:

Dumbbell Chest press 20kg in each hand 5x5

Bent over one-armed dumbbell rows 24kg 5x5

Standing military press 25kg barbell

14kg dumbbell curls 5x5

Friday:

Incline Dumbbell chest press 18kg in each hand 5x5

Bent over one-armed dumbbell row 24kg 5x5

Standing Military Press 25kg barbell

Standing Tricep extensions 14kg 5x5

Sunday:

Flat dumbbell chest press 20kg each hand 5x5

Bent over one-armed dumbbell row 24kg 5x5

Standing Military press 25kg barbell

Pull ups 2 sets to failure

I am starting to add push-ups and decline sit-ups.

I have gotten stronger from the time I have been going to the gym as when I first started I was struggling with 12.5kg dumbbells in each hand on the chest press. Likewise with the rows etc.

I am just worried because I see other guys training specific muscles on different days and they do like 3 exercises on their chest. I feel like I'm not doing enough but I am knackered  when I leave the gym.

So I guess long story short should I stick with what I am doing or switch it up to a different program? My plan was to get to lifting 30 kg on the chest press and then changing to a different routine?

I don't want to be massive or really ripped. Just strong and have not such skinny arms. Ideally Usain Bolt's size. I have attached a photo.