Forums are back in action! ×

Am I overtraining, undereating or just in a slump? ... And should I care?

[sorry about the length]

The last few sessions in the gym I haven't been able to acheive the same results as the sessions before. I'm feeling weaker, and I'm not too happy about it.

I've been hitting the gym and exercising more in genral for the last 6 months or so. In that time I've droped about 7kg(~15.5lbs), down from around 92kg(202lbs) to around 85kg(187lbs). In that time I haven't really focused on my diet much, other than to avoid the big no nos (fast food, chocolate, softdrinks, etc) for most of the time, and make a few smarter choices where I could (brown rice instead of white, etc). My strength has certainly improved in that time, though I didn't take logs back when I started. I don't know what BF% is/was, but it's certainly droped going by visual ques.

For the last several months, I've been exercising about 6 days a week, and 5 days a week would be with weights. Weight sessions last about an hour. My workouts have evolved slightly, but have always been pretty similar to what you'll see in my log.

I'm happy with the weight I've lost, and wouldn't classify myself as overweight, but I still have fat on my belly and hips that I just want gone! So I have begun monitoring my food more strictly, just started using myfitnesspal (love it!), and am eating at a deficit to shed the fat.

In the new year, I want to switch and start eating to gain muscle, but first, "fat be gone" is the mantra. But I don't like this feeling that I've had the last few days that I'm getting weaker.

Am I training too often? Too long? Is my deficit in calories to explain my feelings? Could I just be at a plateau? And given that my imediate goal is to shift these last few kilos, should I care? Should I just persevere a little longer?

Thanks NF!

Initial thoughts:

Make sure you are getting enough sleep. 8 hours is good. 9 is better.