Forums are back in action! ×

I suppose I should begin with a quick introduction.

I'm a 20-year-old college student interested in video games, DC Comics, and superheroes. I generally try to work out at least four times a week, if not five, and I'm at a generally healthy weight for my age and height. I suppose at this point it almost seems that I should not be here, but I'm actually looking forward to how this may turn out.

You see, I was very overweight as a kid and over the course of about four years I was able to shed off 60 lbs. This was thanks to inspiration from some of my favorite heroes, some dabbling on my own, and mostly being away from bad influences on my eating habits.

The problem is I have no idea how I actually did it. I've been stagnant for a few years, and though I'm somewhat alright with that I have been frustrated with my lack of actual progress no matter how much effort I put in. I really just eat too much to be able to make any real progress. Even when I restrict my diet I have issues with adjusting my workouts to be able to push my body farther.

Recently I began going to the gym with a college friend, and we decided to make a bet over this summer break. Whoever comes back to school in the fall with the most progress wins overall.

It's a pretty silly reason to go to this much effort, but the competitive edge seems to be making me more interested in trying to make life changes. I figure I won't mess with a good thing and will instead do all that I can to make sure I get some real progress in this summer.

My real goals are including weights in my routine to gain muscle and to actually restrict my calorie intake. I really hope that coming here and logging progress can help make that reality  :pride:

• Like 1

Welcome to the rebellion!

The best thing to do is to give yourself a 'finish line'. Find clear objectives that you want to reach, then design a plan to reach those objectives.