Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings (this is long)

I am a happily married 43 yo father of a 6 mo old and a 2 ½ yo. My nerd credentials: I studied engineering in college, before my ADD made me bored of it, and I finished with a degree in biology; in the process of writing my senior paper I caught several hundred frogs in the north woods of Minnesota; I currently teach middle school science. In my younger days I raced road bikes and mountain bikes and dabbled in cyclocross. In the last 10 years I have become overweight and seriously unfit. I am working back toward being fit and strong.

Stats: 5' 11''. Currently 177 pounds, with a 20.1% bodyfat, I can now do 11 push-ups and 1 pull-up. In June, just before the birth of my youngest, I was at 192 pounds and ~ 25% bf and could manage 2 push-ups and no pull-ups. For reference, racing weight was 155 (road) and 165 (MtB) at 9% bf, I probably couldn’t do any push-ups or pull-ups back then.

My nerd fitness goal: I am going to become fast enough, strong enough, and fit enough to survive the zombie apocalypse. Weapon of choice – 6 pound splitting maul, hand axe if we’re on the move.

My selfish fitness goal: I am going to become fit, strong, and lean enough to race mountain bike racing and cyclocross again (I don’t have the financial resources or time for road biking).

My life fitness goals: to become more fit allowing a better quality of life with my family. Surviving into old age - almost none of the men in my family survive into their sixties. As an older dad, I must be one of them.

None of my goals require a lot bulky muscle, strong and lean with a big dose of muscular endurance is what I’m looking for, in other words functional fitness; swinging an axe all day can wear a guy out.

Tools: I’ve been doing Shovelglove since September 1 – this is a great metcon workout and has really leaned me down and made me stronger. I’ve started to mix in kettlebells. Sandbags, running, and riding are next on the agenda.