Forums are back in action! ×

First off, the disclaimer:

I am not a doctor.

I cannot make a diagnosis, I cannot tell you what that weird rash is and I cannot tell you to take or give you medication.  Anything I say or do is for fun and information because remember, I'm just a dude on the internet.

HOWEVER

I am a medic in the Army.  I've been one for the last 5 years and while my civilian credentials show me as the very lowest of EMTs, I have learned far above my certification.  I've worked directly for doctors, physician assistants, physical therapists and nutritionists.  I'm like sponge.

Let me wring myself out on you.  Gross.

So, if you have questions about stretching, you can ask!  If you have a little ache or pain, leave me something here!  If you are bleeding, go to the damn ER!

I'll show you what I mean:

I have piriformis syndrome. 

Piriformis-syndrome-web-large800x600.jpg

The piriformis is a muscle that connects from your sacrum to the head of the femur.  Because it is a deep muscle, (deeper than the gluteal muscles), it can impinge (or tighten down on) the sciatic nerve.  This can cause pain, numbness, tingling, and general discomfort.  It super terrible and it can be hard to stretch.  These are the three that I use most often:

Supine (laying on the back)-

proper-pillow-piriformis-stretch-1.png

Prone (on your front)-

DSC01059.jpg

and sitting (on your ass, like I am right now)-

Piriformis-stretch-seated.jpg

If you do these stretches on a regular basis, as in everyday, 3 times a day you will see improvement in your flexibilty and range of motion.  I would recommend ice as well, to bring down inflammation.  Never ice directly to the skin, and only for 15 mintues a time with 30 minutes rest.  Another fun one is using a lacrosse ball.  Apply direct pressure as hard as you can wiht your bodyweight (it's going to hurt) to the affected area with the lacrosse ball.  It helps break up the myofacial trigger points.

68 Whiskeys for you all!

• Like 3