Forums are back in action! ×

I wanna be the very best, like no one ever was...

Hello Nerd Fitness! 

I wish I had realized I should use my RPG/OC name for my user name, but oh well. I'll change it once I'm able. :) I am not yet registered for Nerd Fitness Academy, but it's the first thing I plan to do once I get paid at the end of this week.

I've been trying half-heartedly and unsuccessfully for almost 2 years now to get fit, but Nerd Fitness is the best idea/program I have come across, and I'm incredibly hopeful that this time I will be able to push through and make it happen will all the support of my fellow nerds.

The biggest pitfall that I have encountered, like many people, is with my diet. I'm a second year college student, and it's incredibly difficult to eat healthy and avoid grains, especially since I grew up a picky eater and avoided most vegetables like the plague until about 2 years ago. My palate is changing, and I'm trying new things but I am definitely not a salad eater. I do love to cook, and I would be thrilled to be able to make all kinds of healthy/paleo meals for myself, but I'm stuck in the dorms again this year. Second semester of last year, I swore off the dining hall (almost) completely, using the kitchen in my dorm hall to cook, but I only have time to shop and cook once, maybe twice a week, and I don't have a lot of space to store food, especially fresh food. 

I would like to humbly ask all of you for advice on my biggest challenge: finding delicious healthy/paleo recipes that I can make in my dorm kitchen, that will last about week in the fridge, and won't make my tiny college coin purse sad. I especially have trouble with breakfast. I would eat scrambled eggs every damn day, but I can't make them in a microwave, and I can't access the kitchen every morning.