Forums are back in action! ×

hello from a grad student who wants to lift weights!

Hello everybody!

I'm a first-year PhD student, and I'm tired of not being fit. I've heard from multiple sources that exercise helps to reduce stress (a big deal in grad school!), and I'm really inspired by Staci's story, and you know what, it's time to get started.

I've never been at all fit. I'm not overweight per se, but my body fat % isn't great. I can't do a proper pushup, let alone a chinup. I can't run for more than 3 minutes at a time before getting out of breath. It's always been easy for me to say that exercise is just for beautiful people who already were athletic and genetically blessed, but obviously that's not true - and as a corollary, even I could one day be fit if I work hard enough!

Of all the activities I've tried for fitness, weight-lifting is the most interesting to me. Unfortunately, I get really anxious when I'm surrounded by guys who are lifting 5-8x as much weight as I am! Seriously, what am I even doing being in their presence? I know that feeling isn't going to help me, and I'm trying to counter it, but it's still there. (It also feels weird to be the only woman in the weight room. Other ladies who have had this experience?) But when I'm in the zone, lifting feels wonderful. As for cardio... Treadmills and elliptical trainers? Anxiety city! Swing dancing? So much more fun!

As for food... right now I'm hoping to focus on introducing more healthy ingredients to my diet, instead of focusing on taking old favorites away. Has anyone else tried this approach successfully?

Right now I'm traveling for winter break, but starting Jan 1 I'll be back home and ready to get properly started. I'm scared as anything, but also really excited! I look forward to getting to know this community :-)