Forums are back in action! ×

Sleep & Recovery

I’ve an issue that perhaps some other folks can relate to – I need to function on way less than the recommended 8 hours/night of sleep.

It started when I was a freshman in college with one or two inexplicably bad nights of sleep per week, and slowly but steadily got worse over time. I spoke with a doctor about it when I was a sophomore, about 3 years ago, but his solution was to prescribe me sleeping pills (sigh…shoving pills down our throats is all doctors ever seem to do these days). Fast forward to the present: on a good night I get around 5-6 hours, while on bad weeks I get by on 2-3 (usually non-continuous) hours a night, typically for about week at a stretch, and often with one or two nights where I get absolutely no sleep at all.

I’m pretty sure my sleeplessness is here to stay, that it’s caused by an overly active mind, and that if I can’t figure out ways to deal with it now (or if I take the easy way out and just pop sedatives into my mouth) it’s going to cause Very Bad Things to happen as I get older. So, I’d like to forget about the symptoms of the disorder for a minute and instead address the cause of it…

I understand that if I want things to change, I need to do both of the following:

1) Boost my STR and CON stats like crazy (did I really just say that? I’m such a dork). I’m able to get through one sleepless night without too much damage, even without caffeine, and if I’ve come this far, then I bet I can go further. Being fit can be my safety net against a crappy week of sleep.

2) Improve my sleep hygiene. Part of this involves where, when, how I rest, and part of this involves finding products that can relax both my body and more importantly my mind. Some things work better than other - if people are interested, I can brainstorm a list of what I’ve tried so far.