Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, I'm new here.

Hello all. My name is Aaron, and I'm from Youngstown, OH. I rarely post on forums, I mostly just lurk, but I figure this would be the one to actually participate in.

I am just starting to get my fitness in order after losing around 100 pounds and then gaining about 70 back after switching jobs a few years ago. I'm a delivery driver now, so I spend a lot of time in a van doing nothing. There also aren't many options on my particular rout that would constitute healthy eating, so I started constantly eating garbage out of convenience/lazyness. Lately I've found myself getting progressively more angry when I look in the mirror, and I've been feeling like crap more often then ever.

I knew it was time to do something, and ended up finding NF by total accident. I started to read and was interested in the concepts presented because I'm all for challenging/defying conventional wisdom (call me contrarian if you must, but I don't like being one of the "herd") and I happen to be a bit of nerd myself. I've attempted to get in shape a few times before, but I never really gave much thought to the fact that diet was such a large part of success, and only made marginal improvements in that area. I also have a habit of getting way too eager, and I end up injured or burnt out from pushing myself too hard too soon (I've done this 5-7 times). I joined the academy and have been reading through the material, and slowly implementing it. I think slow has to be a key word this time.

I was going to join a the six week challenge, but its already the third week, so I'll do it when it starts a new cycle.  As far as goals , I've made a few small ones to start out with:

Lose 15 lbs.

Stop drinking soda, juice, milk (Tried this out for a work week and actually found it pretty easy)

Add at least one vegetable to every meal