Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, I'm Jay. Been a lurker for a while. Taking a break from my football obsession for the time being so I decided to join the forum.

I used to be the skinny kid way back in HS/college, but sitting at a desk all day (I'm an engineer) and drinking beer caught up with the midsection. I've tried to lose weight in the past (and vice versa gain it in the long distant past) but never stuck with it. Until recently.

When I weighed myself on 9/11 I was up to 263 lb. Very unhealthy and just started to feel old (felt big and bloated, with no energy, and my knees were in constant pain). My first child/son was born last spring and that isn't the dad I wanted for him. So I decided to change, and since then I'm down to 221 as of my last check. I've gotten a lot of great advice here.

I'm not on a particular diet, instead I count calories, with the assistance of my tricorder (otherwise known as a smartphone). Being the nerd that I am, numbers work good for me. Over time I've learned how to eat better, really just the concept to not eat crap, crap in general being the stuff not found in the perimeter of the grocery store (and a good % of restaurant food). Every now and then I just peruse the store for a while and look at labels.

When I first started my journey, along with watching my calories like a hawk, I started some easy exercising, walking on the treadmill we have at home. I made a few sad attempts at jogging and ended up hurting my knee (or otherwise making the existing condition (tendonitis) significantly worse). Turns out that my legs were just too weak. Instead of backing down from this I treated it as an obstacle to overcome, and added weight training to my routine. Started with bands to help out my knees. Thus began a constant quest to level up my weekly routine.

Some goals I've thus far conquered: