Forums are back in action! ×

This girl's starting slow...

Hi folks, just a super noob here saying hello! I've recently dedicated myself to improving my fitness and health and thought I'd better pop in and broadcast it to cyberspace.

The thing is I've never really been fit; I was the asthmatic, unathletic kid who just did enough to pass PE. I'll go for a nice walk under my own steam, but that's less to do with being active and more to do with "I've just marathoned half a season of Hannibal and I really need some fresh air." I've always managed to maintain a healthy weight, but around this time last year I landed myself a regular desk job and it's been creeping up steadily to the point where I've had to put my foot down and get control again.

It's not just a matter of losing weight but also (mostly) of attaining a better level of general health and fitness. Yes, I want my nice jeans to fit me again, but mostly I want to be able to go for a brisk walk without getting puffed. I want to be able to fetch all the grocery bags in one go. I want to be able to dash to the airport gate carrying my suitcase. And, of course, I want to enjoy the sexytimes without getting a terrible cramp and needing my inhaler.