Forums are back in action! ×

Treating a Cold

I've had a cold for going on a month now. I'm not sure if it's the same cold; I suspect, since it renewed with vigor last week, that it's two colds in a row. I'm a teacher, so getting colds isn't really a surprise or a mystery, and all the kids are sick, too.

But - how do you treat a cold, especially if you still have to go into work that day? I've been struggling through this week, though I'm taking tomorrow off for a doctor's appt. I eat paleo, and I try to eat a wide variety of vegetables. I discovered one of the Asian supermarkets in the area makes chicken stew with ginseng and ate some of that this week. I plan to try and make some myself.

Any other suggestions on fighting this cold and getting better?

I'm so sorry you've been sick for so long! When I was teaching I had a chronic case of bronchitis - no fun!

Anyway I don't know great "cures" - but upping my vitamin D3 intake has always helped. Every time I feel the onset of something, I up my vitamin D to 10,000 IU a day, and take some extra zinc and C. I don't know if it'll help you at this point, but it's worth a shot!

(I've also tried Neti Pots and they've actually seemed to help - but with the recent news coming out about them idk if I'd use them again. sad day.)

Hope you feel better~

I take a giant chewable vitamin C pill you can get at CVS and tastes like oranges. I eat one every morning once I start feeling symptoms. That with some extra water and extra sleep will fix you up.

Massrandir, Barkûn, Swolórin, The Whey Pilgrim
500 / 330 / 625
Challenges: 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 31 32 34 35 36 39 41 42 45 46 47 48 49 Current Challenge
"No citizen has a right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training. What a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. " ~ Socrates
"Friends don't let friends squat high." ~ Chad Wesley Smith