Forums are back in action! ×

Hard Time Figuring Out Correct Reps

I'm just starting out on full body lifting (squats, dead lifts, bench press, overhead press) and I'm having kind of a tough time figuring out how many reps and set I should be doing.

According to the Beginning Workout, if I'm doing "moderate" weight I should be doing 8-12 reps with 4 sets. For squats and dead lifts, I can do 10-12 reps of 4 sets pretty comfortably with the weight I've selected.

But bench press and over head press I'm having some difficulty deciding. I try to aim for 10 reps and 3 sets, since I'm doing slightly heavier weights (I'm not sure of a lighter option since I'm already benching the bar with no weights, and I don't have the strength to do more than about 4 pushups at a time. I know, my upper body sucks.) I can manage the 1st set without any issue, but each subsequent set I have to go down in reps. So 1st set: 10. 2nd set: 8. 3rd set: 7. I try to push through it, but my body literally gives out.

Should I scale it down to only do 8 reps of 3 sets? Thoughts? Thank you!

"Total abstinence is so excellent a thing that it cannot be carried to too great an extent. In my passion for it I even carry it so far as to totally abstain from total abstinence itself." -Mark Twain

Hey Rebound,

You could try... If you're using the full sized Olympic bar that weighs 20 kilos (45ish pounds) maybe get yourself some dumbbells slightly lighter than that for the first week of bench press. So Grabbing 2x 20 pound weights or lighter if necessary.

Doing the bench with dumbbells will also increase the strength in your stablising muscles as well which is a mega bonus! *ching ching ching*

Keep it up mate.

"Strength is the cup. The bigger the cup, the more you can put in" - JDanger

Rep ranges depend on your goals

1-5 -> Strength

6-12 -> Muscle growth (strength gains too on the lower end, endurance gains on the higher end)

13+ -> Endurance