Forums are back in action! ×

Look..over there.. a duck!

Good morning everyone!

Im a scientist (although currently trying to retrain in programing as it pays better), with all the nerd qualifications required, im even playing skyrim as i type this and my life has been spent with the nicknames of "lofty" and "string bean" etc etc. So i approach this site with the aims of increasing my muscle tone and I enjoy a good run so increasing my fitness in this area as well, oh and it wouldn't hurt to lose the beer gut.

There are two reasons for me being here actually (ill keep this brief)

1) motivation

2) to try and motivate someone else

I had a care free life as a kid, nothing to complain about. Then 8 years ago the universe decided it needed a new victim and decided to pick on me with a string of death, divorce and mental hospitals, suicide attempts... and none of that happened to me but my family and loved ones and i was the one left standing in the middle, untouched as such but doing the support work.

Then October last year my mind just gave up and depression set in. It has been a tough few months, taking hours to get out of bed because there isn't any point and just staring at walls blankly.

The rules of this rebellion state "no excuses" and its true. I force myself out of bed in the morning and do 5km runs or weights because there are no excuses and the moment i give in and say "ill phone in sick today i cant face the world" will be the day I fail and ruin everything.

So i signed up to thank all the people here for the motivation to actually do this stuff and with the slim hope that if there is one other person that is in the same boat and tries to change as well then woohoo!

thanks for listening to my fevered rantings folks and have a good day! :D