Forums are back in action! ×

So I found this site a while back while I was looking for advice on weight loss and gamifying your life, and I keep coming back to it so I figured I should at least introduce myself once.

Relevant background info: I've never been a very active person, I'm a writer with a gaming habit and movie addictions, everything I like doing is solitary, low key and doesn't require a lot of movement. I was lucky enough to be thin anyway, for a very long time. Then disaster struck. It started off with health problems, asthma kicking in while I was living in a fourth floor walk up, then moving to an area where I was allergic to the air enough to be in bed most of the time (i naturally don't live there anymore); then life got worse, depression set in, time goes by, blah blah blah, we get the idea, a really bad situation. I had been aware I'd gained weight, but I did not know just how bad it was until I was on vacation last year and caught sight of myself in a full mirror in the hotel room, and was just horrified by what I saw. I held on to that feeling and, within a few months, I figured out how to present getting back in shape to my brain in a way that would not cause instant rejection, make it seem like both a possible goal and worth pursuing. 

I don't know just how much weight it is, I don't own a scale (or know people who do). I made a lot of progress on cleaning up my diet, switched to a paleo-ish meal plan more than a year ago, most importantly cut out those liquid calories that were probably responsible for a lot of the problem (not soda, I lost the taste for that a long time ago - nah, it was fruit drinks that I stupidly thought were healthier than soda). I have seen some improvement off that alone, and that's good but not as quickly as I want to see it, so I need activity to creep its way in.