Forums are back in action! ×

Why do I suck at working out - old lady version

Reading through the threads I came across http://nerdfitness.com/community/showthread.php?7516-Why-do-I-suck-at-working-out and it seemed to ask the same question I am always asking myself. Except that it was written by a young guy, and I am a less young woman. Okay, I'm going to be 50 this year. But, like him, I workout and seem to stay skinny. I don't want to be skinny, I'd like to be strong!

I have been working out in the gym for about 6 years lifting weights, and recently started doing body weight exercise routines, too. Thanks to the HIIT workouts and a revised diet I lost that extra flab I had and got a little bit stronger, but it seems so hard to make any significant progress towards my goal of more defined muscles.

At my gym they have me doing 3x12 series, so it's hard to go up to a heavier weight, 'cause I'll never make it to 12 reps. My diet is good because I eat no gluten or lactose (intolerant) and I try to eat paleo most of the time, lots of protein and veggies, some fruit, very little sugar...

What am I missing here?

I'm older than you are and just starting out weight lifting.

I've actually got a physical therapist working with me. His take on it is that as soon as I can do 3 sets of 12 reps at a given weight I move up to higher weights and see how many I can do. I won't make it to 12 at the new weight, but so what. I just keep improving and when I get to 3 sets of 12 then I move up a weight. If the next time the new heavier weight is really too much I may back down but so far the only back down I've had to do is from a lower incline pushup to a higher one.

So I'd say if you can do 3 x 12 now then it's time to increase the weights.