Forums are back in action! ×

Hello! Feeling shy...

Hey everyone,

I'm a nearly 27 yo woman who is looking to lose some weight that I put on after a major breakup and train myself to run in the City to Surf (http://www.city2surf.com.au/ ) this year. I aim to finish it without having to walk. I started on the C25K program but some heel pain that I've had for a few years got worse and I've been seeing a physio who's taken me off my running program until he sorts it out. Which sucks. I've been doing bodyweight workouts and swimming instead. Oh, and started Iyengar yoga again (I think stopping it is what contributed to the problem in the first place).

I'm also a folk dancer, which is high impact and very very social (so there's no routine of warming up, or stretching afterwards, just lots of beer and cider...) and a fulltime student (for the third time). I'm doing a degree in Media Communications with a double major in Art History and Ancient History. Mostly Roman history. I'm totally FINISHING this degree.

After doing a lot of research I am super keen to keep doing body weight workouts and move up to deadlifts etc. One of my friends is a good personal trainer (and he can do the 300 challenge in 22 minutes!!! AWESOME) so I work with him on form once a month or so. I've ordered the New Rules of Lifting for Women and am planning on working through that when it arrives.

Oh, and I am currently about 78kg and looking to get down to 60-63kg (which I maintained for about four years until I broke up with my ex and put on 22kg in two years... YUCK). I've already lost 4kg and am keen to fit back into all my awesome clothes this year!

Anyway I am feeling a bit shy and overwhelmed by all the info on NerdFitness so I thought posting might help... anyone want to be friends?

(Goals summary: Lose 22kg; compete in a 14km in August; complete New Rules of Lifting for Women; finish my degree)