Forums are back in action! ×

Depression, Grad School, Getting help.

The respawn point asks what went wrong, so I can fix it. I'll keep the post brief, because I'll be incorporating the information into the next challenge.

Two years ago, I was doing everything right. On May 05, I graduated Magna Cum Laude with my degree in secondary education and biology, with a certificate in environmental science. My teaching internship had been rough, but I'd loved my students. I'd been accepted into a great summer research internship, and had been offered a teaching assistanceship (scholarship where I also teach) for a masters in environmental science. On May 07, Mom called me to tell me she wasn't going to be able to make the organ donor list, and she and Dad decided to move her to hospice. Grandma and I flew out the next morning. By the time we got there, she was already in a coma. She died on mother's day, May 11. Just after midnight, to make sure it was mother's day, that brat. <3 We cremated her, and agreed to wait on the funeral until after my internship, because it was going to start THAT monday.

The internship was amazing. I loved it. I made friends, I worked hard, I'll cherish it always.

In August we held a memorial service for Mom at the Catholic church near Grandma. I spoke, badly. I got to see many family members I rarely see. I flew home with a tiny urn of Mom's ashes, and started my master's work.