Forums are back in action! ×

I need your advice, Rebel Army!

Not to sound cliche...Ah, fel with it--To sound cliche...You guys are my only hope!

I reallyreallyreally want to do this: http://runforyourlives.com/locations/boston-massachusetts/

What is it, if you're link phobic: A 5k obstacle course with hordes of undead chasing you. You have two flags. Goal? Survive the obstacle course and finish the race with at least one flag intact.

Problem:

I'm uh...Not exactly in shape. Okay, I'm totally not in shape. I dread running like you wouldn't believe. I'd love to work on weight training. I try to avoid grains/pastas but due to living with others that's sometimes not possible. (Limited funds, I eat what they cook for the most part.)

What can I do to get to the point where I can run a 5k/and do the obstacle course...Before the deadline of 5/5/2012? I'm a college student with access to a free gym on my campus with weights/cardio/etc.

I'd love any input you guys have!!

Guest Snake McClain

Here is my advice. It may suck, but it's mine and I'll throw it out there.

First regarding food. just eat as good as you can as often as you can. It may not be the best scenario for you to eat 100% clean all the time so maybe just eat as clean as possible as much as possible.

second. You want to strength train? DO IT! It won't hurt you as a runner unless you become some behemoth. Just strength train and it will help condition you for long distance and speed. then slowly work your way into running longer distances. or do tabatas for more than four minutes.

maybe this advice sucks but it's what i would do.

thrid. RUN! don't like running long distances at first? DONT! Run sprints. Tabata sprints (nerd fitness blog has an article on it). Doesn't take much time but it conditions you

Nothing wrong with strength training as a runner. C25K is the best way to get yourself in 5k shape without burning yourself out/hurting yourself, IMHO.