Forums are back in action! ×

Food Diary Issues!

Newbie here looking to do a food diary (I'm pretty positive I'm not getting enough protein). However, although I feel like this should be a decently simple task, I'm having issues with it...

Mostly, I'm awful at estimating portion sizes. (3oz of chicken? 2 cups of spinach leaves?) Is this something you eventually get better at?

Also, I'm having trouble finding an online food diary/calorie counter to help me - Steve recommends DailyBurn, but when I signed up I couldn't actually even find the calorie counter under the nutrition section! Any recommendations?

Thanks!

Perhaps you could invest in a kitchen scale? Amazon.com seems to have some good quality food scales for around $20. This, of course, is assuming that you're doing your cooking at home instead of eating out. Restaurants are tough to determine the nutritional value on the spot, but I know that some restaurants have nutritional facts on their website.

Hopefully I've helped a little. :)

Current life goals:

Eat Paleo | Work Primal | Find a Job | Relax | Get more sleep

April 2012 goals:

10 Chin-ups | 45 Push-ups | Cut out sugary snacks

"The 'amazing' can only be created by facing fear, risk, and failure during the process." -Joel Brown

"A brave man is not a man who is not afraid, but one who's will is stronger than his fear." -Unknown

Myfitnesspal.

Do you have a smartphone? Myfitnesspal has a great iphone app, there is a really good android one as well, I forget the name.

You do get better at estimating portion size. Some people use a scale at least with the tough stuff. Other things you can do....

Look at labels, let the math they did for you work for you. If something's serving size is 1/4 cup, there are 5 servings in a package and you are eating half the package, you are eating 5/8's of a cup.

Frozen chicken breasts are tough though since they tend to be so varied in size in a multipound pack. A good rule of thumb is:

3 oz = tiny