Forums are back in action! ×

How do I start fresh

Hey Everyone

I'm James, I'm new to the forums but i've been reading the NF articles and news for about a year. A few years ago I set myself a goal of getting fit, losing weight, and overall being more productive, and I succeeded. Unfortunately since then, 2 and a half years later, I'm back where i started (if not worse). I'm gained a significant amount of weight, and I am hopelessly unfit. I've tried many times to get into new, better habits, but they tend not to last longer than a week before some terrible excuse (studying, hungover, work, etc.) gets in the way and stops progress. I have little motivation anymore, and very little energy. I'm a student in final year at uni, so a normal day mostly consists of being stuck in front of a laptop for hours, only to relax in a similar way later. I make all my own meals, but they are pretty carb heavy. My exercise at the moment consists of the (very) occasional run, which I hate, and walking to and from campus each day.

I've realised my mistakes from before were expecting results far too soon and, and trying to change far too many habits at a time. I'm trying to come up with a new plan, making small changes week by week, but I struggling to work anything out. I can't afford a gym membership, but I own weights. Does anyone have any recommendations for someone starting out fresh, with the aim to lose weight, eat healthy, and generally achieve a healthier lifestyle?

P.S. I'm sorry if this is all a little vague, but i really have no idea what I'm doing!

"I have no idea what I'm doing but I know I'm doing it really, really well" - Andy Dwyer

Maybe find some inspiration from this article: https://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/why-having-to-start-over-again-is-great/