Forums are back in action! ×

Not all those who wander are lost

Tl;dr – Hi, I’m new to the NF Academy. Here’s my why:

Hi everyone, I’m new around here and finally got the courage up to not only sign up for the NF Academy, but also to publicly post my why.

1. I need to be strong, to help carry my weight in my family, and more when others can’t due to injury or disability. I need the energy to be able to take care of what needs to be done.
  2. I have let life slip by me for too long. Our lives are so fleeting, and I have let my fears and body hold me back. I’m so sick of not having the energy to do things, and I need support from like-minded people.
  3. My family has a history of medical problems, including diabetes and heart disease.  I will NOT follow their path! I will break the cycle, and teach my future children the RIGHT way to live – without limits.

Here’s the long version: 

As I write this, my father is in a hospital room waiting for a double bypass surgery in the morning. He’s had a host of health problems since I was little, including type 2 diabetes. As much as I’m scared for him and what he is going through, a small self-serving part of me is thinking about how this could be me in the future. I’m very much Hobbit shaped, and pushing 270 at 5’ 2”, making me around 100 pounds overweight from when I last felt comfortable in my own skin. I’m basically pre-diabetic, and genetically pre-disposed to heart problems. My mother and sister have both gotten gastric bypass, but while tempting sometimes I know it’s the wrong path for me.

I have PCOS and insulin resistance (basically akin to pre-diabetes). The main treatment is metformin, which I have recently chosen to stop taking because of the side effects. I’d like to have a baby, but so far all we’ve gotten is 2 miscarriages.  I feel like my obesity (yes, I said it even though it’s a nasty word) is part of the cause, though the doctors could not find any reasons for the losses.