Forums are back in action! ×

Overcoming Sunday night dread: Leveling up your work life.

You could say I've hit the NF nirvana. I'm 23, and I've gotten to the point where my eating habits, fitness habits, wanderlust for travel, relationships with the people I love and my spiritual place are exactly where I want them to be. 8 months ago when I graduated I had three months before I started my dream job--it was a rotational leadership program doing IT Project Management. For the three months before I started my job, every day I would jump out of bed with enthusiasm and waste no time in starting the day.

Fast forward three months. It's Sunday night and all I feel is a deep, foreboding sense of dread in the pit of my stomach. I'm googling everything from "work anxiety" to "sunday night dread" to therapy clinics where I live. Yes, I have slowly started to accept that I hate my work. I'm a 9 to 5 corporate slave (well, actually 830 to 6, generally). Specifically, as I said before I'm doing IT Project Management for a very large firm, so my typical day revolves around leading status calls, solving problems by talking to people I barely understand (because of their accent or because of their technical lingo), and reporting bad news to my rather rude boss. The dreaded Sunday night feeling is at it's worst right now, because I'm working on a project riddled with issues and baggage.

The pit in my stomach has gone from sunday night to every night, to the point where I toss and turn when I try to sleep.

The good news is this: I'm 5 months from finishing this "rotation" and I switch jobs. So it's a new opportunity to take the mistakes I've made this rotation and learn from them for the next one. The bad news is this: Well, I still have 5 more months on this project, and the constant stress is making my sick.