Forums are back in action! ×

Been lurking on the site for a few weeks so I thought I would join. Every time I google for some workout information this site was always in the top results so I thought I should follow it more closely.

Some info on me, definitely a Nerd and just really got into fitness the last 9 months or so. Been messing around with computers in some form or another since I was a Junior in High School back in 1986. I then joined the Navy and went into their Data Processing program, today I am in the Cyber Security field and work for the Federal Govt.

Health wise I have made some big changes in the last 9 months. I was always active as a teen and into my twenties with basketball, volleyball, softball, football, or just about anything i could do but as I got older my knees stared to bother me. Soon I was popping more painkillers than it was worth. Fast forward to 2008 and I hit the 300lbs mark, now at 6'6" I carried it well but I was not happy so I started lifting but had no real plan. I dropped 20 pounds and thought I'd try running even though I hated running. 3 weeks later I suffered a ACL tear and micro-fracture in my tibia while on the treadmill. 6 months of rehab and healing followed by surgery and 3 more months of rehab led me to say I was done.

Then in January of 2011 we decided to change our lifestyle, simplify things, focus on our health and happiness instead of trying for the next promotion or working 60 hours a week. By July we had done that, moved to a smaller place a block from the gym, hired a personal trainer to guide us through the next 6 months, and committed to that 6 months. We told the trainer we were in his for the long term and wanted to come out healthier and stronger. There were no weigh goals discussed as we didn't want that hanging over us.