Forums are back in action! ×

Diet question: Vegan vs. Paleo

Gametris

Greeting NF Rebellion!

I'm very new to fitness; at my worst I weighed 410 lbs (6'2'' 30yo) and have dropped down to 329 over the past few months with just diet and walking. I've been following NF for a while on Facebook and decided to join the forums! (Yay me!)

Anyway, I just recently watched a documentary on Netflix called Forks Over Knives which stated that there are extra risk factors to getting your protein from animal products than from whole foods that are grown. I enjoyed the film but now I am wondering how viable it would be for weight/strength training.

I've seen that Paleo is recommended by a lot of people (I read Steve's article on it as well as some other sources) and I can see the logic in it. But I've started to develop an issue with animal products because of the way the animals are cared for with crazy diets and hormone manipulation to produce more while cutting costs. And, If I add the elimination of risk factors by going Vegan than it seems worth it if I can continue to strength train. I guess that is what I get for watching Food Inc and Forks Over Knives.

I tried to find some helpful information online but most of what I've found has been flame wars between the Vegans and Paleo dieters. So if anyone has helpful research/advice they wouldn't mind sharing I would greatly appreciate it.

Hey there! Welcome to the Rebellion!

In regards to how animals are treated, you also would need to look at Paleo's approach to this. Most Paleo proponents suggest organic, grass-fed meat. The food quality is much different than the hormone manipulated you mentioned. I can also imagine the animals are treated better.

It's funny you ask anyway, as an article recently emerged with responses from both sides of the Paleo and Vegan debate. You can read it here: http://experiencelife.com/article/paleo-vs-vegan/

Good luck in finding what's best for you.