Forums are back in action! ×

Episode 1: The Dadbod Menace....

I’m a NF newbie in search of improved fitness, wellness, and an overall better way of doing things. I somehow found myself in my mid 30’s with an amazing wife, crazy wonderful kid (with one more on the way), great job, aaaaaand the venerable ‘Dadbod’ I always feared. This fearsome Dadbod was forged in the fires of Netflix, Xbox (Overwatch and ESO if you are wondering), take-out, and toddler leftovers.

But I wasn’t always the chunky charmer I’ve now become. Martial Arts and Combat Sports were always a big part of my life, even up to a few years ago during my time competing in Jujitsu and knocking around in MMA & FMA most days of the week. Truth be told, I was trying to fight my way out of crippling depression and alcoholism, and I finally realized I couldn’t do it alone. I’m incredibly thankful to have gotten help from some amazing people and am coming up on 2 years of sobriety, with the healthiest mental & emotional way of dealing with life I’ve ever had.

Now the downside, I’ve been eating like a fat kid at a cake eating contest ever since (mostly Oreos....okay, lots and LOTS of Oreos). I found this site while looking for fitness tips to get back on track and knew you were my people. Love everything about this site and was super excited to see a group of fellow ‘Nerds’ coming together to achieve their fitness and life goals in a way that exudes awesomeness.

So I am here and ready to suit up, show up, and step up for the Rebellion!

A72689C3-17E7-4E2F-9B7E-299A59898175.gif