Forums are back in action! ×

So excited to have found NF!

Hi all!

I came across a link for Staci's story on Mark's Daily Apple and so decided to check things out. Not sure where to start...

I'm 39, mom to four. Spent ten years as a firefighter until a knee injury and then a move out of my department's response area slowed me way down. I've been working a desk job for the last six years or so and while I enjoy the heck out of it I spent way too much down time and as a result packed on the weight.

Three years ago my mom passed at the age of 59 of a massive heart attack. I had to make the decision to have her unhooked from life support and at that moment made the decision to not ever put my own kids in that agonizing situation. I was raised on fried foods and spent most of my life as a junk food junkie. After mom's death I gave up artificial sweeteners (my headaches went away) and caffeine as a result of a bouts of irregular heart beat and my cardiologists suggesting it. My next thing was to force myself to eat more veggies which is not something I'd ever done unless they were battered and fried or covered in some sort of cheese sauce or dip. So I went vegetarian.

I found a new love for good food but after two years had put on even more weight and found I was constantly fatigued. I read an article on doing a 30 day grain free challenge so decided to give it a try. That was in Sept. I've cheated a few times since and can always tell the difference. When I cut grains I added back in wild caught salmon, shrimp, tuna and grassfed beef when I can find it. I've lost about 11lbs since then without trying and do feel better than when I wasn't eating any meat.

My main form of exercise is yoga and raquetball, some running now and then thrown in from time to time as well. I am hoping to sign up for the 6 week challenge if it isn't too late? Need to go read the thread and see. I would really like to start the beginner body weight circuit workout and go from there.