Forums are back in action! ×

Too much Geek, not enough Nerd??

Hey all -

Just joined the Rebellion this week, and wondering if I'm in the right place. Seems like a lot of focus on gaming. I'm definitely a geek/nerd in my own right, but no gaming for me. I'll probably get crucified for this, but I've never watched Star Wars or Star Trek either (though I do know the difference).

I am an IT professional - in fact, I'm the only one for my company. They joked when I started that "if it plugs in, you have to support it." I have discovered, that it isn't so much a joke! I support computers, printers, servers, network, phone system, virtualization, copy machines, ERP, misc. software, CNC programming, disaster recovery, business intelligence, SQL admin/programming, and of course the pebkac/id10t errors. I call myself a "jack of all trades, master of none."

If there's a place for me here, I love the openness and fun attitude of the community. I definitely tend to get along with the nerd/geek crowd better than the typical female drama queens. I'd just like a basic overview of the gaming lingo everyone seems to use, if you're willing to explain.

Health-wise, I'm doing my best to head towards Paleo. I know it's they ultimate way to eat, but am having trouble convincing my pasta-loving, veggie-hating husband and kids. I love anything that makes me sweat a ton! Right now I'm primarily doing Zumba (I'm a licensed instructor), but do some running as well (a few 5K's and a 10K under my belt). I fully intend to venture into heavy lifting afer my baby is born at the end of Sept. I started "New Rules of Lifting for Women," but got stuck in Phase 1 when I found out I was pregnant.

If you're still here, thanks for sticking it out. This got way longer than I intended, and I appreciate any feedback!

Welcome! There's a place for everyone here because we're all nerds in our own right (I don't game anymore, hate Star Wars, and can take or leave Start Trek) :P