Forums are back in action! ×

Issues with Orthostasis after heavy weight loss.

Gametris

Greetings,

I started going to the gym regularly three weeks ago but I've been losing weight steadily for about six months, so far about 60 pounds. It wasn't until after I started going to the gym that I started noticing a light headedness after standing. It's worse after workouts but doesn't seem to affect me while I'm working out. It is really getting annoying because I actually blacked out and did a nice face plant on the ground yesterday. I'm staying hydrated and actually increased my H2O intake like it's going out of style. I'm also eating regularly.

I'm going to see my doctor, but just wondered if anyone knew if orthostatic hypotension is common for people in this situation.

Greetings,

I started going to the gym regularly three weeks ago but I've been losing weight steadily for about six months, so far about 60 pounds. It wasn't until after I started going to the gym that I started noticing a light headedness after standing. It's worse after workouts but doesn't seem to affect me while I'm working out. It is really getting annoying because I actually blacked out and did a nice face plant on the ground yesterday. I'm staying hydrated and actually increased my H2O intake like it's going out of style. I'm also eating regularly.

I'm going to see my doctor, but just wondered if anyone knew if orthostatic hypotension is common for people in this situation.

I don't know if it's common, but speaking from anecdotal experience, I have issues with this too - and it's something that really only became an issue after weight loss. I've never merely passed out from standing up - though I've gotten sufficiently light-headed that I've needed to hold onto things. And it's definitely more noticeable after exercise - both lifting and cardio, but longer cardio sessions sometimes do it to a greater extent. Getting out of bed quickly in the morning sometimes provokes this as well.