Forums are back in action! ×

Kayaking

Rebecca_Ann

Are there any kayakers on here? I'm sure there are. What should I know before I consider buying a kayak? I have kayaked (is that a word? Haha it's funny looking) before and it was so much fun I felt like I could have paddled forever. Are there any beginner kayaks? I don't like the long skinny ones or the ones on top of the water.

I bought a kayak a few months back and I love it. I'm still pretty new to it though. Mine is 12.5 feet long, and it's a sit on top variety, so pretty much the opposite of what you like ha. I know they make short ones you sit in, they are a little harder to control though, paddling.net has a lot of good articles on there about beginner kayaks/skills. Hope you find something you like!

The path to Swolehalla is paved with a lot of Swolehate, and you won't get there without being Swole of Spirit too.

Race: Fiendish Blue Extension Cord

Class: Warrior
Links:  MFP  Battle Log  Current Challenge

What should I know before I consider buying a kayak?

The best advice I have is to try a bunch out and see what you like/dislike about different ones. If renting a few times isn't an option, some boat stores have a "pond" or pool to try them out.

Here's a few questions to consider:

1) Are you looking for a boat for one? or two (or as some call them, divorce-makers)?

2) Do you want to paddle on the ocean? flat water? rivers?

3) Are you looking for speed? (Rigid fiberglass or kevlar is faster, but heavy and expensive. Plastic is lighter, more forgiving if you bump/scrape on rocks or the bottom, and less expensive.)

4) How do you plan to move it around? (Is there a weight limit to what you can lift up to a car/SUV roof rack? Will you have to carry the boat from parking to water?)

5) Does it need enough space to carry camping gear?