Forums are back in action! ×

Running is way cheaper than therapy

Running is cheaper than any therapy.

At least that's how it is in my case.

My name is legit. Kelly Elizabeth. I love my name, why come up with a different one? I just turned 25 last Thursday. I'm 5'4, inheirted what I like to call the 1940s or 1950s shape. I love my body. I love myself a good 95% of the time. Then I have the other 5%, that's the dark and twisty side. She's no fun. She's full of bad juju. She's emo, and she's kind of sulky. I don't like her. I keep her maintained by my running. :smug: I love to run. I love to challenge myself.

Two years ago, I graduated college got a full time job, and entered reality. Somewhere in the middle of this, the guy I loved decided to move to Korea and leave me behind. So rather than being productive, I got destructive. I started to party, I started to drink, have the occasional cigarette, and for some reason I also took up running. How in the cloud of crazy I decided that was a good idea I have no idea. Eventually I decided, that aside from the fact I would wake up at 6 am in the morning to 20 degree temperatures, I enjoyed the feel of the air through my lungs, the rush of blood, and the burst of energy I got from those mornings where for a good hour it was just me and my thoughts. I had some of my best ideas while running. I became happier, more confident, and when I saw my three best friends I realized I didn't need the other things because I was freaking awesome without the smoke filled bars that smelt of Jack Daniels and shame. That was all about the bad juju, and I had to fix my juju. My runs in the morning were becoming the good juju. I could figure out just about anything while I ran.