Forums are back in action! ×

New to Lifting... New to Nerd Fitness!

Hi everyone! I'm a 27 year old female scientist from Philadelphia. I've been pretty skinny and weak all my life, and I'm finally ready to get strong! I started lifting last week with my trainer. I'm pumped!

So far I've been doing deadlifts, barbell squats, Turkish get ups (which I'd never heard of before!), planks (the kind where you alternate touching the wall), pushups, leg raises, and a bunch of other dumbbell upper body exercises. Edit: I'm 5' 9" and ~145lbs. BMI taken at gym reported. 21.9

I really can't want to get stronger. Diet is mostly veg and lean meat (no mammals) with minimal dairy and grain. I don't have much fat to lose, just a bit in the normal places for women: belly and thighs/ass. Here's a pic:

7872840552_26a79c1047_n.jpg

I'm not sure how much diet is really affecting me at this point, but any suggestions are welcome there as well as with regard to exercises.

N00b questions:

How do you track your workouts? I'm using Fitness Buddy right now and it's OK, but I'm also going to start doing a google spreadsheet so I can make graphs easily (nerd ftw). Does anyone have an app for the iPhone they love?

Should I wear a flat soled shoe for lifting? Right now I'm wearing the New Balance WX813 cross-trainer, but I wonder if the sole is messing with my form on squats ( I have a tendency to go too far forward).

What do you eat for breakfast? This is the meal I struggle with the most. For a while I would eat a bagel, but it made me feel like crap. Recently it's been yogurt with a bit of granola, a piece of fruit (orange today), and carnation instant breakfast with skim or 2% milk. Whatever I eat needs to be portable and easy because I bring it to work.

My goal is to be stronger, but more concretely I'd like to be able to do 10 pull ups and 50 push ups by the end of the year, and increase my deadlifting and squats by 5lbs each workout. Are these reasonable?