Forums are back in action! ×

Looking for alternatives brought me here

Hey all! I'm new to the forum, and I honestly never thought I'd find myself here.  You see, my deep dark secret is ... I really hate bodyweight exercises.  I really, really do.

That doesn't mean I don't plan to do them.  I'm usually a dancer (Middle Eastern, "belly," if you prefer), but a recent bout of tendonitis and plantar fascitis has taken me off my feet for a few months.  I mostly need to heal and strengthen before I can start dancing.  And just because my feet aren't working right, that doesn't mean I can't keep strengthening and toning* the rest of me, right?

By day, I'm a software tester/business analyst/project manager, so I have a nicely geeky job.  Actually, I describe my job alternately as "geek-adjacent" and "geek translator," since I'm frequently the one translating developer-speak into something non-developers can understand.

By night, I'm usually either playing WoW**, knitting, or reading sff. I'm old enough to remember playing games on the original NES with my dad, and I remained faithful to Nintendo consoles through the N64 (Ocarina of Time is still one of my favorite games). With the Gamecube, I jumped ship to the PS2, and spent many, many hours playing JRPGs.  Right now, I don't have a current gen console (too pricey when they first came out), but I'm looking at picking up an XBox, so I can borrow games from all my friends. I also harbor a grudge against Playstation for not making the PS3 backward compatible.

*I'm not using "toning" to describe looks here, which is silly. I mean "toning," like you would tune a piano, or an engine.  Getting max DPS out of my body. That kind of toning.

**My main is currently a Gnome Shadow Priest, but I played a Prot Pally for years.  Just didn't like the prot changes in Mists.

Arianrose, the Dwarf Adventurer

Level 1 - STR: 3 | DEX: 2 | STA: 3 | CON: 3 | WIS: 3 | CHA: 1

Challenge #1

~Walk in the light; dance in the shadows~