Forums are back in action! ×

CALLING ALL D&D NERDS

Rathrune

This post is intended to gauge the interest of creating a play-by-post Dungeons and Dragons game on these boards.

While many of you may have played a tabletop Dungeons and Dragons game, a poplar method these days is doing so on the forums, where you type out your actions, conversations, and the general role playing that goes on in a Dungeons and Dragons game.

A play by post is beneficial to newer players, and those who may be too shy to role play in real life. It also offers the benefit of being able to role play on YOUR time and does not require a group of people to be together at once.

I will be the DM of this game. You can call me Rathrune. I have extensive experience DMing both real life and online D&D games for over 10 years. If you are interested in playing, here are the general guidelines and requirements I'm asking of each player.

1. Be able to commit to a BARE BONES minimum of one post per week (with most players wanting one post per day...which is HIGHLY preferred and makes the game much more fast-paced): a post does not mean "I swing my sword at the troll." You want to incorporate details, as much detail as possible to make an entertaining post. Example shown below:

"Ardoun grunted as he fended off the trolls attack, stepping sideways to let the monsters weight carry him to the dirt. "Hah, you'll have to do better than that fiend! No one survives the strength of my hammer!" He lifted the glorious weapon in the air with both hands, and for a moment the troll could only see majestic beauty....the sparkle of the sun gleaming off the hammer....the blue skies surrounding his sight line...and a dove taking off....before the hammer suddenly came crashing down at his head."

2. Have an understanding of D&D 2nd edition rules. I know, I know, old school but its the best edition by far without getting insanely complicated.