Forums are back in action! ×

Where to start...

Hi!

I've been trying for years to lose weight and I would always start out by jumping on some fad diet for about a week, lose a fair amount of weight, then lose all will to continue. I'm 5'0 and currently 161 lbs. I've come down from 174 lbs since last August by making minor changes to my diet, such as cutting out soda. My current goal is to lose 25lbs by the end of the year.

I work as an Administrative Assistant, so I obviously don't move much while I'm at work. However, I've recently started walking a mile during lunch twice a week. I feel like my biggest problem is not staying consistent with my diet. I also struggle with accountability. I live with my parents and while they're are supportive, they don't always seem to understand.

Something else that I hope to accomplish is getting over my severe social phobia. I would really like to try some group fitness classes, but I'm terrified to even walk in the door to sign up for them.  :hopelessness:

And as a sidenote... I'm addicted to Doctor Who.  :smile-new:

Hi Strangeling! Welcome to the rebellion!

I know what you mean about the fad diets- that's always been my downfall. It's better overall if you don't look at it as a diet to lose weight, but as a lifestyle change to get healthy. I'm starting the SouthBeach diet tomorrow-which is very similar to a paleo diet. It is a "fad diet" but it's heart healthy and sustainable- and it gives you the motivation to keep going after that first week/the strictest phase. If you buy the book (lame, I know) it comes with a recipe plan all plotted out inside so you know exactly what to eat for every meal/snack on every day of the diet. A free smartphone app called dietpoint has a similar diet plan available called sunney beach or something or other- I downloaded it but haven't used it yet. it gives you meal reminders and tells you exactly what to eat though, and it's free, so that's a plus, right?