Forums are back in action! ×

225 @ 5'7" on my 35th Birthday

Something has got to change, and that something is me.Well, I finally bit the bullet and registered. After literally YEARS of pretty serious lurking (I have been reading the blog and forums since Spezzy’s story was new), I feel like maybe this will help me finally make some real changes to my life.

The problem is… I am not really a nerd, as much as I admire you folks, I really don’t think I qualify. I am she and socially awkward, but the only video games I’ve ever liked were Tetris and Dr. Mario, and Dance Dance Revolution (that one was just so I could dance stupid with my kids). I’m not super good with computers, I can muddle through what I need, but only really old people consider me an expert. I am not good at math. All of this combined leads me to believe that I am not a nerd. But, I love the ideals of questioning everything and the clam, not judgmental way that the forums flow around here. I have spent many, many, many (still not exaggerating here) hours lurking and reading, and everyone is always so supportive and helpful.

I really need the accountability that announcing your goals to the world can bring, but don’t have a suitable audience in real life, so I am hoping to find that here. I recently started running (yes I call it that even though many people walk faster) again and although I am not going all full on paleo, I am watching my portion sizes and trying to make better choices. So my goal for right now is to consistently work out at least 30 mins at least 5 days a week. Have a green smoothie (who knew that these actually tasted good, I thought it was a celebrity fad, but they are yummy) for breakfast at least 5 days a week. And actually share my progress at least 3 times a week for accountability.

Something nice about this community is - you don't have to be a nerd to be a member.